Participation in a boating education course will teach how to properly operate and maintain a boat. There are a few options of course types to choose from. NASBLA approved online courses that are recognized in Maine are available as well as classroom courses.
Note: Persons 16 years of age and under 18 years of age MAY NOT operate a personal watercraft unless they possess on their person, identification showing proof of age and proof of successful completion of a NASBLA approved boating safety course unless they are accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who physically occupies the personal watercraft.
Online Boating Courses
Each online course varies in presentation and functionality, providing options that may work better for you. You can begin the course and work at your pace, with the ability to save, and go back to it to fit your schedule. Modules are timed in many cases, and each includes multi-media content including text, pictures, photos, and video content, including quizzes and a final exam. All course options are NASBLA approved and currently meet the Maine standard for course content.
America's Boating Education Course This course can be completed in any one of three ways: Online or Home study-studying an 80-page course manual or with a CD. Cost is $34.95 charged by the online provider. Certificate provided upon successful completion including a passing score on exam.
BoatUS Foundation Online CourseThis is a free course that can be completed online. Provider suggests a $10 donation. Certificate provided upon successful completion including a passing score on exam.
Boat-Ed This course can be completed online. Cost is $34.95 charged by the online provider. Certificate provided upon successful completion including a passing score on exam.
BoatTests101This course can be completed online. The cost is $24.99 charged by the online provider. Certificate provided upon successful completion including a passing score on exam.
Paddlesports Safety Online – Please Note: This course is NOT approved to replace a NASBLA approved boat operator course. This is an optional safety program specific to paddlesports. View the Paddlesports Safety Flier (PDF).
Passage of a final exam is required. You must attend every day of the class in order to receive your certificate.
Total Course = 6 Hours
- Proper Operation & Safety (Boating Handling-Equipment-Trailering) = 3 Hours
- Laws = 30 Minutes
- Emergencies & Survival (cold water) = 40 Minutes
- Self Help First Aid = 20 Minutes
- Environment/Ethics = 1 1/2 Hours
Can't find a course for your area? Contact the Recreational Safety Division Office at (207) 287-5220.
When registering either by telephone or email, please be sure to include your full name, telephone number, and which course, date and location you are signing up for.
New courses will be posted below as they become available.
Portland – Portland Yacht Services
Tom Russell – (207) 774-1067×7 or firstname.lastname@example.org for questions/information
June 11, 8am-4pm
Cost $50. Contact Portland Yacht Services 207-774-1067 for payment. Payment due before day of the class.