Complete List Of High School Math Classes | Aralia

According to the Common Core Curriculum standard for Math, schools are required to cover six areas in high school math courses:  

Most high schools have minimum requirements include three years of math in order to graduate and recommend taking four years. These requirements often also include completing an algebra class and a geometry class. 

General areas of math include: 

  • Number and Quantity  

  • Algebra 

  • Functions  

  • Modeling 

  • Geometry  

  • Statistics and Probability  

Therefore, according to the Common Core standards, a typical order of core High School Math curriculum from freshman to senior year is:  

  • Algebra 1

  • Geometry
  • Algebra 2/Trigonometry
  • Pre-Calculus
  • Calculus  

Before entering high school, students will take placement exams to determine the level of knowledge they currently have. Students who are interested in further pursuing Math in high school or college can consider more advanced Math classes, like Statistics, AP Calculus AB, AP Calculus BC, or other Math-related classes, such as Computer Science classes.  

While different schools have different curricula, the majority at least loosely follow the Common Core standard. Below are some common high school math classes: