New York Real Estate Licensing and Continuing Education

NEW YORK REQUIREMENT DETAILS FOR REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON PRE-LICENSING

Hours Required By The State: 75 hours

Seat Time: The New York Department of Real Estate requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Both in-person attendance and the online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Requirements:

In order to obtain a NYS salesperson real estate license, one must satisfactorily complete the following:   

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a United States citizen or be a legal, permanent resident
  • Have no felony convictions (contact NY Department of State for clarification)
  • Complete the 75-hour licensing course
  • Submit a signed student affidavit
  • Pass the NY Department of State Salesperson licensing exam ($15)
  • Pass the school-proctored final exam
  • Have a sponsoring New York State Broker

 

Apply for a Salesperson license ($55 for two years)

New York Department of State requires that your final course exam be proctored. All final exams must be physically taken within the State of New York. Final exams may only be taken twice. You have one year from the purchase date to complete the course online or in-person and take the proctored final exam at REBNY.

To schedule the proctored Final Exam, please contact REBNY at education@rebny.com. Proctored final exams are administered by appointment at 9:30 am Monday – Friday at the REBNY office, located at 570 Lexington Avenue (51st Street).

NEW YORK REQUIREMENT DETAILS FOR REAL ESTATE BROKER PRE-LICENSING

  • Broker License Course Hours Required By The State: 45 hours
  • Remedial License Course Hours Required By The State: 30 hours

Applicants for licensure as a real estate broker who successfully completed the 45-hour salesperson qualifying course prior to July 1, 2008 may take a 30-hour supplemental course which, if successfully completed, may be used by said applicant in conjunction with the 45-hour salesperson qualifying course towards satisfying the salesperson educational requirements for licensure as a real estate broker.

Seat Time: The New York Department of Real Estate requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Both in-person attendance and the online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Requirements:

  • Be at least 20 years of age
  • Be a United States citizen or be a legal, permanent resident
  • Have no felony convictions (contact NY Department of State for clarification)
  • Complete 45 hours of online broker qualifying coursework
  • Submit of a signed student affidavit
  • Pass the school-proctored final exam
  • Pass the NY Department of State Broker licensing exam ($15)
  • Apply for a Broker license ($155 for two years)
  • Complete 120 hours of approved qualifying education. Those who completed the 45-hour broker qualifying course prior to July 1, 2008—or salesperson licensed prior to July 1, 2008, who do not meet the required 120 hours of education—MUST take an additional 30-hour remedial course to qualify for broker licensure.

New York Department of State requires that your final course exam be proctored. All final exams must be physically taken within the state of New York. Final exams may only be taken twice. To schedule the proctored Final Exam, please contact REBNY at education@rebny.com. Proctored final exams are administered by appointment at 9:30 a.m. Thursday's at the REBNY office, located at 570 Lexington Avenue (51st Street).

State Exam Locations:                                                                                                                                    NEW YORK CITY                                                                                                                                              123 William Street, 2nd Floor                                                                                                                        New York, NY 10038

NEW YORK REQUIREMENT DETAILS FOR REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION – BROKER AND SALES LICENSE

REBNY is an approved school in New York.

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: Every two years by the exact day of your license anniversary date

Hours Required By The State: 22.5 hours every two years

  • 2 hours implicit bias (new requirement)
  • 2 hours cultural competency (new requirement)
  • 3 hours fair housing
  • 2.5 hours ethical business practices
  • 1 hour legal matters
  • 1 hour agency (2 agency hours for initial license renewal)
  • 11 elective hours


Note: All licensees must successfully complete 22.5 hours of approved continuing education. The education must include at least 2.5 hours on the subject of ethical business practices, at least 1 hour of recent legal matters, at least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property and at least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to the law of agency except in the case of the initial two-year licensing term for real estate salespersons, 2 hours of agency related instruction must be completed within the two-year period immediately preceding a renewal.

Any salesperson who successfully completes an approved broker qualifying course (which requires passing the final exam), within their current term, will receive continuing education credit for completion of that course.

Please note: If completing the broker course for continuing education, you must also complete 2.5 hours of ethical business practices and 1 hour of recent legal matters topics to satisfy the requirement. 

A recent legislative amendment REMOVED the 15-year real estate broker continuing education exemption and now requires all brokers who were previously exempted to complete continuing education starting July 1, 2021.

REBNY is currently offering live distance learning continuing education courses via Zoom along with online, on-demand courses to satisfy all requirements.

Seat Time: The New York Department of Real Estate requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. Both in-person attendance and the online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.