NYS Dentistry:Continuing Education

    General
    Information | Continuing
    Education: Who is Required to Take it and Why? | Continuing
    Education Hours | Continuing
    Education Courses and Acceptable Subject Areas | Continuing
    Education Sponsors | Recordkeeping,
    Reporting and Audits | Other
    Relevant Information | Contact
    for Further Information

    The continuing education requirement for dentists will be changing.
    Beginning July 1, 2008, New York State Education Law will require
    dentists to complete 60 contact hours of continuing education in
    each three-year registration period. For dental hygienists, the
    law still requires the completion of 24 contact hours in each three-year
    registration period. The law that applies to these requirements
    (Title VIII of Education Law) is available
    on this site.

    The New York State Board for Dentistry does not maintain
    or have access to the continuing education records of any licensee.

    Answer: Yes. To reactivate your New York State registration you will need to complete the amount of continuing education required for a normal triennial registration period. Since you are not actively practicing your profession, you will only be able to count continuing education credits earned up to 12 months prior to the month in which you reactivate your registration.

    Answer: Yes. To reactivate your New York State registration you will need to complete the amount of continuing education required for a normal triennial registration period. Since you are actively practicing your profession, you will be able to count continuing education credits earned up to 36 months prior to the month in which you reactivate your registration.

    Answer: Yes. Any individual who holds an active registration must take the required continuing education.

    Answer: No. Registration periods are adjusted so that renewals occur during the licensee's birth month. When this happens, you can calculate how many continuing education hours you are required to complete. If you are a dentist, follow the instructions in question 4. For dental hygienists, count the number of months in your registration period and multiply that number by .67 hours. For example, you are issued a registration effective 7/1/05 and it expires 10/31/07. This registration is for 28 months multiplied by .67 for a total of 18.76 (19) hours for dental hygienists.

    Answer: Yes. Although this is the first time you received a New York State license, it is not your first license. You must complete the required continuing education during this and all subsequent registration periods.

    Answer: To determine how many hours of continuing education you must complete, count the number of months from the beginning of your registration period through June 30, 2008 and multiply that number by 1.25. Then count the number of months from July 1, 2008 through the end of your registration and multiply that number by 1.667. Add these two totals to find the total number of hours you are required to complete during this registration period. A calculator to assist during this transition is available on our Web site.

    Answer: Beginning July 1, 2008, New York State Education Law requires dentists to complete 60 contact hours of continuing education in each three-year registration period. Prior to that date, dentists are required to complete 45 contact hours of continuing education during each three-year registration period.

    Answer: Every dentist and dental hygienist registered to practice with a New York State license must take continuing education to be eligible for registration renewal.

    Answer: The healthcare professions are always changing. New medications and new procedures are always being developed. To give the best care to your patients and allow your practice to evolve with your profession, you will want to continue your education throughout your professional career.

    Answer: No. You can complete the hours any time during the three-year registration period as long as you have completed the required hours prior to the expiration date of your registration. However, we recommend that you complete courses each year so you are sure to have them completed before it is time to reregister.

    Answer: No. Continuing education hours can not be carried over from one registration period to the next. The hours must be completed between the effective date and expiration date of the registration period for which they will be applied.

    One continuing education unit (CEU) equals 10 contact hours. Therefore, .1 CEU equals one contact hour, .2 CEUs equals two contact hours, .3 CEUs equals three contact hours, and so on.

    Answer: An hour of continuing education is one contact hour of at least 50 minutes in duration. Most continuing education providers give credit in hours; however, you may see credit given in continuing education units.

  1. Are there specific courses that I must take to be eligible
    to renew my registration?

    Answer: Yes. All dentists who have a continuing education
    requirement must take the following courses. (see section:
    Continuing Education: Who is Required to Take it and Why? to
    determine if you are required to complete continuing education)

    • During your first registration period after January 1,
      2002, you must complete on a one-time basis, a two-hour
      course regarding the oral health effects of tobacco and
      tobacco products.
    • During your first registration period which begins on
      or after January 1, 2008, you are required to complete,
      on a one-time basis, a State approved course in dental
      jurisprudence and ethics.
    • Beginning January 1, 2009, all dentists must achieve
      certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and
      from that point forward, continually maintain certification.

    During your first registration period which begins on or after
    January 1, 2008, you are required to complete, on a one-time
    basis, a State approved course in dental jurisprudence and
    ethics. This means that:

    • Dentists renewing their registration in 2008 must complete
      the course by 2011
    • Dentists renewing their registration in 2009 must complete
      the course by 2012
    • Dentists renewing their registration in 2010 must complete
      the course by 2013

    Dentists and dental hygienists must also complete a State
    approved infection control course every 4 years. A list of
    approved providers can be found on the Office of the Professions' Web
    site.

  2. What are the requirements for the tobacco coursework?

    Answer: Dentists must complete a two-hour course in the
    oral health effects of tobacco and tobacco products. This
    course must cover the chemical and related effects and usage
    of tobacco and tobacco products and the recognition, diagnosis,
    and treatment of the oral health effects of tobacco and tobacco
    products, including but not limited to cancers and other
    diseases and must be offered by an approved sponsor. Dentists
    who can document that they completed a two-hour continuing
    education course after February 27, 1997, which
    is consistent with Education Laws and Regulations pertaining
    to continuing education that covered the required topics
    will be considered to have met the requirement. This course
    must be completed during the first registration period for
    which the dentist has a mandatory continuing education requirement.

  3. What are the requirements for the New York State dental jurisprudence
    and ethics coursework?

    Answer: Dentists must complete, during the first registration
    period which begins on or after January 1, 2008 in which they
    have a continuing education requirement, a three-hour course
    in dental jurisprudence and ethics. Because the course must include
    the laws, rules, regulations and ethical principles relating
    to the practice of dentistry in New York State, the course must
    be approved by the Department.

  4. What courses may I use to meet the CPR requirement? Which providers
    are acceptable? May I take an online course?

    Answer: Dentists may complete courses sponsored by the American
    Red Cross, the American Heart Association, the American Heart Saver Institute, the American Safety
    and Health Institute or the National Safety Council. All
    courses must be live and in person.

    The course must include, but need not be limited to, content
    in the following:

    • scene survey;
    • patient assessment;
    • one and two rescuer cardiopulmonary resuscitation;
    • mouth-to-mouth resuscitation;
    • mouth-to-mask resuscitation;
    • conscious choking;
    • unconscious choking;
    • bag-valve-mask resuscitation;
    • recovery position;
    • automated external defibrillator use;
    • infection control matters;
    • recognizing a heart attack; and
    • cardiopulmonary resuscitation and automated external defibrillator
      scenarios.

  5. May I count CPR training toward my continuing education requirement?
    How many hours may I count?

    Answer: Yes. Dentists and dental hygienists may count CPR
    training toward their continuing education requirement. During
    each triennial registration period, you may count up to a
    maximum of twelve hours of CPR coursework, including coursework
    in Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) and/or Pediatric
    Advanced Life Support (PALS).

    • You may count a CPR course for up to three hours. A copy
      of your CPR card is proof of completion.
    • You may count a CPR course which includes training in the
      Automated External Defibrillator (AED) for up to four and
      one-half hours. A copy of your CPR/AED or BLS card is proof
      of completion.

    You may count an initial ACLS or PALS course for up to twelve
    hours and an ACLS recertification course for up to six hours.
    A copy of your ACLS or PALS card is proof of completion.

  6. I am physically incapable of performing CPR. Am I still required
    by law to maintain certification?

    Answer: No. You may be granted an exemption to the CPR requirement
    if you are physically incapable of complying with the requirement.
    Documentation of your incapacity shall include a written statement
    by a licensed physician describing how your physical incapacity
    affects performing CPR. You will also be required to submit an
    application for exception which verifies that another individual
    or individuals will maintain certification and be present in
    the dental office while you are treating patients.

  7. What about the other courses I complete to meet the continuing
    education requirement?

    Answer: All courses taken to meet the continuing education
    requirement must be formal courses in appropriate subject areas
    offered by approved sponsors.

  8. What are appropriate subject areas?

    Answer: Appropriate subject areas are those courses that contribute
    to professional practice in your profession.

    Appropriate subjects include, but are not limited to, the
    following areas:

    • basic and clinical dental sciences;
    • behavioral science;
    • pharmacology of new and developing drugs;
    • drug interactions;
    • public health issues;
    • child abuse reporting;
    • infection control;
    • sterile procedures;
    • legal or regulatory issues;
    • patient counseling;
    • risk management;
    • other topics that contribute to the practice of your profession;
      and
    • other matters of health care, law, and ethics that contribute
      to the public's health and welfare.

    The key is the subject matter's relationship to professional
    practice as defined in section 6601 of
    Education Law. Therefore, courses that are not related, such
    as PRACTICE MANAGEMENT, accounting, finance, statistics,
    and how to use the Internet are NOT ACCEPTABLE.

    If you are unsure whether a course you would like to take
    will meet the continuing education requirement, feel free to
    contact the Dental Board by phone at 518-474-3817, ext. 550
    or by e-mail at dentbd@nysed.gov.

  9. Am I required to physically attend courses to meet the continuing
    education requirement?

    Answer: Yes. Prior to July 1, 2008, dentists are required
    to complete at least two-thirds of
    their continuing education hours via live courses (30 of the
    45 contact hours required for a three-year registration). Beginning
    on July 1, 2008, dentists are required to complete at
    least seven-tenths of their continuing education
    hours via live courses (42 of the 60 contact hours required
    for a three-year registration)and dental hygienists are required
    to complete at least seven-twelfths
    of their hours via live courses (14 of the 24 contact hours
    required for a three-year registration). The balance of the
    remaining hours may be completed through appropriate self-study
    courses.

  10. What is a live course?

    Answer: Live courses are those in which you are able to interact
    with the instructor. For example: a live lecture; a telecourse
    or teleconference in which you and the instructor can speak
    directly with each other; a course in which you and other practitioners
    discuss a taped presentation with a facilitator's assistance;
    a computerized course in which you are able to interact directly
    with the instructor. On the other hand, a televised lecture
    with no means of direct interaction would not be acceptable
    as a live course even if it is a live telecast.

  11. Are there any other ways to obtain continuing education hours?

    Answer: Yes. In addition to formal courses offered by approved
    sponsors in appropriate subject areas, the following courses
    are acceptable for continuing education.

    • Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) programs. You may
      count an initial EMT Basic course for up to ten hours and
      an EMT Basic recertification course for up to five hours.
      (Note: First-aid courses are not acceptable.)
    • Registered/Accredited residency programs.
    • Mandatory infection control offered by a New York State
      approved provider.
    • Mandatory training in the identification and reporting
      of child abuse and maltreatment offered by a New York State
      Education Department approved provider (two hours).

    In addition, you may count up to seven (7) hours per
    triennial registration period for teaching a continuing education
    course as long as the course is in an appropriate subject area
    and is offered by an approved sponsor.

    Credit will NOT be given for life/work experience;
    informal group "study clubs" of dentists and/or dental
    hygienists run by an unapproved sponsor; studying on your own;
    or conducting research, writing for journals, making videos
    and/or faculty teaching.