Real Estate Board: Pre-License Education | Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation

Salesperson Pre-License Education

In order to become licensed as a real estate salesperson by the Real Estate Board, applicants must:

  • complete 60 class/clock hours of a Board-approved Pre-License Course (PDF), and
  • pass the state and national portions of the examination

Broker Pre-License Education

In order to become licensed as a real estate broker by the Real Estate Board, you must:

  • complete 180 class/clock hours of Board-approved Pre-License Courses (PDF), and
  • pass the state and national portions of the broker examination, and
  • submit verification of experience (actively engaged as a salesperson for 36 of the 48 months preceding application).

Equivalent courses to Board-approved courses offered by an accredited university, college, community college, or other school or education institution may be accepted for broker pre-license education. Each course must be at least 45 class/clock hours or 3 semester hours. Proof of course completion, including a monitored, final written examination, is required for course approval.

You must complete a Real Estate Brokerage course. In addition to a Real Estate Brokerage course, you must complete either:

A) the three Broker-Specific Courses of Real Estate Appraisal, Real Estate Finance, and Real Estate Law; or
B) two of the Broker Specific Courses and one of the following Broker-Related Courses:

  • Real Estate Abstracting
  • Real Estate Contract Law
  • Real Estate Economics
  • Real Estate Feasibility Analysis
  • Real Estate Investments
  • Real Estate Math
  • Real Estate Property Management
  • Real Estate Property Law
  • CCIM designation
  • CRB designation
  • GRI designation
  • SIR/SIOR designation
  • Business Law
  • Commercial Mortgage Lending
  • Land Planning and Use
  • Urban Development

NOTE: Courses taken to meet continuing education requirements are not acceptable for pre-license credit in Virginia.

ANY PRINCIPLES OF REAL ESTATE COURSE TAKEN FOR LICENSURE AS A SALESPERSON IS NOT ACCEPTABLE AS A BROKER PRE-LICENSE EDUCATION COURSE.
Original or certified copies of transcripts are required to verify broker pre-license courses.
Chart of Broker Pre-License Education Credit (PDF) for reciprocal applicants from other states.

Examination

Important Notice Concerning Coronavirus (COVID-19) – PSI Test Centers in Virginia

  • Updates: https://www.psionline.com/important-notice-update-concerning-covid-19-coronavirus  
     

Fingerprinting Services:   

   DPOR is now offering another two fingerprint service options; PSI exam sites or Fieldprint services.  

  1. PSI exam sites can provide fingerprint services from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm. No appointment necessary – https://www.psionline.com to find a location nearest you. 
     
  2. Fieldprint offers sites throughout Virginia where license applicants can go to have their fingerprints taken via Livescan.
  • To use the Fieldprint service, applicants must schedule an appointment through Fieldprint's website at https://fieldprintvirginia.com/. Learn more about the Fieldprint scheduling process here.
     

 

Exam Vendor
PSI
(855) 340-3910

Frequency and Dates of Exam
Daily
Contact PSI
(855) 340-3910

Deadline for Application
No application deadline.
Allow two weeks for processing of exam application.

Exam Fees (paid directly to PSI)
$60

Exam Locations
Charlottesville
Richmond
Roanoke
Vienna
Virginia Beach
Johnson City, TN*
Salisbury, MD*
*NOTE: Test sites located outside Va. are not able to do electronic fingerprinting.

Questions About Exam Scheduling or Registration?
Contact PSI at (855) 340-3910 or https://candidate.psiexams.com.

Other Questions?
Contact the Board office at (804) 367-8526 or REBoard@dpor.virginia.gov.