Real Estate (Non-credit)

To qualify for an individual real estate broker license, an applicant must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age; 
  • Be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the U.S. 
  • Have a Social Security Number;
  • Pass the two-part real estate license examination 
  • Satisfy the North Carolina Real Estate Commission that the applicant possesses the requisite character for licensure.

Step One: Broker Prelicensing Courses

The North Carolina Real Estate Commission requires successful completion of this entry-level course to qualify to take the real estate license examination. The course may be offered only by institutions and instructors approved by the NC Real Estate Commission. Applicants are initially issued a provisional broker license upon successful completion of the NC real estate license exam. A provisional broker must be under the supervision of a broker-in-charge to be on active status and legally provide brokerage services.

The primary objective of this course is to provide students with the basic knowledge and skills necessary to act as a licensed real estate broker in a manner that protects and serves the public interest. Major topics include basic real estate concepts and law, property taxation, land use controls, environmental hazards, brokerage relationships and practices, real estate contracts, financing, closing real estate transactions, landlord, tenant and property management issues, fair housing, real estate valuation, federal income taxation of real estate, basic house construction, property insurance, Square Footage guidelines and agent safety. North Carolina Real Estate License Law and Real Estate Commission Rules and Trust Account Guidelines are also covered.

Required Textbook: Modern Real Estate Practice in North Carolina, 10th Edition, ISBN: 978-1-4754-8652-0 (

Step Two: Broker Postlicensing Courses

To remove provisional status, a provisional broker must complete the 90-hour Postlicensing education program. At least one course must be completed annually by NC provisional brokers within three (3) years after initial licensure to remain eligible for active license status. A provisional broker must complete all three Post Licensing courses within 18 months of initial licensure to retain eligibility to actively engage in real estate brokerage. A “full” broker can engage in brokerage, either as an affiliated agent of a real estate brokerage company (firm or sole proprietorship) under a broker-in-charge (BIC), or independently as a sole proprietor or an entity. An independent broker-sole proprietor must be a broker-in-charge to lawfully engage in most brokerage activities.

Required Postlicensing courses:  Post 301-Broker Relationships and Responsibilities, Post 302-Contracts and Closing, and Post 303-NC Law, Rules and Legal Concepts. Postlicensing courses may only be taught by institutions and instructors approved by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission and may be taken in any sequence.

Required Textbooks may be purchased at The North Carolina Real Estate Manual (2017-2018) is required for all three courses. Broker Relationships and Responsibilities also required the Commission’s Residential Square footage Guidelines booklet.

View more information in the NC Real Estate Commission Prelicensing FAQs.